Some time

When we are lucky, we enter what the poet Marjorie Saiser calls “cruise control.” It is a state of grace, in which our egos have disappeared, the juices are flowing,and we are on with the writing. Musicians and athletes call it “going into the zone.” Often, this most effortless of writing ends up being our best work.   – Mary Pipher, Writing to Change the World

It has been forever since I’ve entered “cruise control,” or had any connection to my muse. It hasn’t come over me in ages. Though I search and wish for it everyday, I have a feeling it just needs some time away.

8 thoughts on “Some time

  1. Amber says:

    Life happens. It’s not always easy, but sometimes you do need to give things a break. When you are ready to return, you will know and you will ease into the routine almost painlessly.

  2. I think my cruise control is out cruising with yours — on some distant horizon. Or maybe I’m just nearsighted? ; )
    (It will come to us and perhaps it is way way closer than we realize…. : )

  3. Chantal says:

    Enjoy your break and we will be here when you are ready to return.

  4. Jane says:

    I’ve been in these funks many, many times. But I always seem to come back into my groove. Hoping your groove returns soon! xoxo

  5. Yes! I think all of us who ever write with purpose completely understand : we’ve been on cruise control and we’ve been in the empty place. But I know that I always feel alone in the latter–remember that you’re not!

  6. denise says:

    Much love to you, my friend. Brava to you for taking what you need. Time is good. Continue to be kind to you. xoxo

  7. You have been on my mind so I’m stopping by to say hi. Also, I’m leaving magic fairy writing dust in case you need it. (oh I so want to make a fart joke now)

Leave a Reply

