Summer blessings

I’m not entirely sure how life can be so obligation free, and yet so busy at the same time. But that’s how our summer is shaping up. We’ve protected huge pockets of time from any planned activities, whole weekends clear of any predetermined script to give us the freedom to enjoy whatever blows our way. Yet even so, our schedule still feels so full, of trips for ice cream, morning walks to the park, afternoons cooling off in pools and sprinklers, and endless hours with feet up and books, lots and lots of books, cradled comfortably in our laps.

I’ve settled contentedly into the warmth of the season, fully giving in to whatever comes my way and embracing opportunity over commitment.

Yesterday I  downloaded If You Want to Write by Brenda Ueland to my Kindle and, after only a few pages, I’m fully absorbed. So I’ll leave you with these words by Brenda, and you’ll have a sense of what I’m thinking about.

For when you write, if it is to be any good at all, you must feel free, free and not anxious. The only good teachers for you are those friends who love you, who think you are interesting, or very important, or wonderfully funny; whose attitude is:

“Tell me more. Tell me all you can. I want to understand more about everything you feel and know about all the changes inside and out of you. Let more come out.”

Thank you friends, for letting me tell you more and more. I feel blessed and grateful to all of you. If you are looking for more, please come read my latest guest post at Everything Mom on why it’s so important that mothers support mothers.

10 thoughts on “Summer blessings

  1. This is one of my favourite writing books ever!

  2. Lena says:

    Beautifully said, as always Christine! What an amazing time of year summer is, but you are right days get full, even with lovely things like reading — though admittedly not enough is going on in my home lately, these darn kids. 😉 Enjoy!

  3. What a nice summer! As for the writing advice, I agree that writers need to feel free enough to confidently explore their subjects and themes without hindrance…in the first draft. That’s why I brainstorm with my husband and have my mother and best friends read. But…after that creative stage, I always need a new set of friends who will be very, very hard on me and kick my butt. It’s a combination. 🙂

  4. Sharla says:

    Just those few short lines you’ve given leaves me feeling like I NEED to read that book.

    P.S. Couldn’t agree with you more about mothers needing to support each other.

  5. Chantal says:

    My summer is so like yours. We have nothing planned yet I feel burned out already. Enjoy your wonderful summer and I love being here are reading your thoughts!

  6. Christine, I learned so much from your session last Saturday at SoCap – thanks for sharing your wisdom and experience with us newbie bloggers. After a crazy, hectic summer of renovations, I’m finally touching ground again and my business blog was the first thing on my list. Your tips added fuel to the fire under my butt to get this thing going!

Leave a Reply

