Dog days

Summer is in full swing at our house, and for the first time in a very long time everything feels normal. We’re enjoying the slower pace that comes from our oldest being done school, evenings on our porch sipping cool drinks and digging into ice cream, and weekend days spent entirely outside. I’ve been unplugging more and more so that I can enjoy the warm weather and some quiet thinking time.

Given my recent post on feeling creatively empty, and my decision to allow myself to sink into summer and slow things down just a bit, I really enjoyed this article at Six Pixels of Separation on boredom. If you have a moment, go and read it. I think you’ll agree that it makes perfect sense.

Summer aside, I do have a lot of projects on the go, both personally and professionally, so I’ll probably be around these parts a little less over the next month or two. For now I’m off to allow boredom to set in and to spend a little time just doing whatever.

6 thoughts on “Dog days

  1. Enjoy your “slow down” time, Christine. There’s little enough of that as there is – and I know very well that with two little ones, slowing down isn’t exactly slow…

    Have a great summer!

  2. Relish in slowing down. Doing whatever sounds so liberating. Enjoy it! xoxo

  3. My dear friend, that’s what summer is for. Taking time to sit on the porch with some lemonade and a good book. I plan on doing the same. xoxo

  4. ‘Sink into summer’…I love that. We’ve been traveling a lot (and will be again), and although I greatly enjoy it, it’s rarely ‘vacation’ for us. This last week, I’ve been allowing myself to finally unwind and be lazy, and it’s been heavenly. Enjoy your de-compression time with your family!

  5. Yes! Sitting quietly, sipping something cool, letting your mind wander – and resisting the urge to review your to-do list – is good for creativity, sanity, and health. I’ve been told it’s in these moments that our immune system recharges, too, though I don’t know whether that’s scientifically proven. Enjoy your summer!

  6. […] I continue to enjoy the dog days of summer and find myself coasting for the first time in years, I thought I’d share this […]

Leave a Reply

