My perfect day

Several weeks ago, I shared my Mondo Beyondo dream list. I haven’t looked at it since, which I think is a mistake. As a matter of course I’m not the kind of person that subscribes to the notion that it’s within my power to imagine my future and make it happen. But lately it seems that everywhere I turn I’m faced with the idea of naming my dreams, writing them down, and revisiting them often as an important step toward living the life I want to lead.  And as I’ve changed, so have my ideas about things, and I find myself more and more willing to believe in dreams, faith and prayer, drawn to a growing trust that they are the key to ongoing change in my life.

I believe this even of the little everyday changes.

So today I’m sharing my Mondo Beyondo dream list for the perfect day. I believe naming it brings me just a little closer to making it happen.

  • I start my day early, enjoy a hot coffee and a quiet hour of writing or reading.
  • My children and husband wake and we all sit down to breakfast together.
  • Jay takes our youngest son to daycare on his way to work, and I walk our oldest to school, chit chatting with him about the day ahead.
  • I return to my home office, get comfortable at my desk and enjoy five or six hours of productive professional time.
  • By mid-afternoon, I pack it in and set-off to greet my son at school and walk him home. This time together, in the morning and then again in the afternoon, is our opportunity to connect, and be present with just each other.
  • My husband comes home late afternoon with our youngest son, the boys play and enjoy each other’s company, while I retire to the kitchen to prepare a healthy family meal.
  • After dinner we go for a family walk, swim or bike ride.
  • We tuck the boys into bed, read stories and reflect on our days.
  • Once the children are comfortable in their beds, my husband and I gather on our front porch, our hands circling vibrant glasses of red wine, to talk about our days or whatever else comes to mind. We do this free of outside distraction or pressure.
  • I finish the evening by tidying up and preparing and packing lunches for the next day. Finally we snuggle into bed for an hour or two of reading, or a short meditation.

It’s a simple dream, the life I long to sink into, focused primarily on family, a slower pace and stretches of time to regenerate and renew.

If you’d like to learn more about Mondo Beyondo dreaming, I highly recommend you consider participating in a Mondo Beyondo online class about dreaming big. I’m not overstating when I say that it changed my life.

10 thoughts on “My perfect day

  1. Sarah says:

    What an awesome thing to do, C. Inspiring to imagine the life you long for, get in touch with your dreams. I fear I’ve been running away from those thoughts all my life. Time for a change, ya think? 🙂

  2. It sounds like a lovely “perfect” day, Christine.

    I know for myself – given the stage I’m at – I would still take some of that family time (around the dinner table), but also – time for myself. Still much too little of that even after so many years. And we all need it, don’t we.

  3. harrietglynn says:

    Lovely. For a brief moment, I thought this was your typical day, and then I realized that you work and have this long commute … I actually believe you will be able to do that although your kids will be older so you can walk them both to school (details…!)

    I doubt I’ll ever be able to get up an hour before my son, not until he’s in high school but in a lot of ways, that is the best time of the day, the hour before the rest of the house arises.

  4. How does Sarah always get here before I do? Your day sounds lovely. And, dare I say it, it sounds possible! I hope that having this “perfect day” script enables you to take steps toward realizing it–at least some of the time. xo

  5. harrietglynn says:

    Oh …MY perfect day! I’m a little unclear but here are some of the basics: Coffee, nature walk or hike, outing with family, something intellectually stimulating, bbq and wine on the back deck with neighbourhood parents and kids.

  6. I echo my fellow commenters. Sounds like a lovely day. Participating in the ordinary with the people you love the most – there is really something perfect about that kind of day.

  7. ck says:

    I’ll take two of those, please.

    That dream day sounds so perfect. Organized, quiet, equal parts family and self.

  8. Christa says:

    Simple, straight forward…. exactly what I am craving lately. I wonder, if we were honest, if this is what most of us want…

    Lovely. Thanks.

  9. A simple dream, but a worthy one.xo

  10. Amber says:

    That sounds like a really perfect day. I may, in fact, steal it for my own. 😉

Leave a Reply

