This country life

My children have collapsed, exhausted and spent into their beds. A weekend that began with a grim forecast, calling for rain and thunderstorms, surprised us with sunshine, gentle breezes and warm, summer-like temperatures.

The lawn was mowed, its edges trimmed. The children played in the dirt, tossed the basketball, climbed up and then down the slide, and gathered sticks for a daylong bonfire that was enjoyed by all. We ate our lunch outside, and indulged in popsicles. The screen door banged and squeaked over and over with someone running in or out, gathering snacks, cold drinks or to use the washroom. For the first time in ages more time was spent outdoors than indoors, and I feel the soothing fatigue that comes from hours of fresh air and sunshine.

Weekends like this remind me why we’ve chosen a country life. The crisp green trees that surround us, their leaves chitter chattering in the wind, the street largely free of traffic, and a sprawling yard full of activity and exploration for my young boys, all make our commute worth it.

The evening sun is slowly drifting toward its own rest. I’m writing this on my front porch, sitting in a comfortable chair with my legs crossed. The air is fresh and cool, and I’m soaking up my contentment. Even the mosquitoes can’t dampen my spirits. This is my favourite part of the house. As the summer months extend and swell with heat, it’s where I can most often be found— in the morning with my coffee, in the evening with a glass of velvety Shiraz.

This is the life I cherish. This is the life that makes me happy, surrounded by my husband children, with nowhere to be.

14 thoughts on “This country life

  1. This sounds so lovely. But I still think that country is creepy. Crisp green trees have too many bugs. The End.

  2. ShannonL says:

    Sounds lovely. We enjoyed the outdoors all weekend, too. At baseball games of course, but it was a lot of fun. Except for the major sunburn I got yesterday! 😦

  3. Christa says:

    Sounds just beautiful… I’d love to be in your situation – someday!

  4. It’s wonderful when the kids spend most of the day outside, isn’t it? I almost don’t mind the popsicle stains on their clothes. 🙂

  5. The way you describe this is bucolic. (Wonderful way to spend a weekend.) And there’s nothing quite like the sort of fatigue that comes from fresh air and a day in the country.

  6. Louise says:

    I grew up in the country, and I had no idea how much I would miss it until I married and moved away … and especially after having children. Now, we live for the days when we can go visit my parents, and the littles can run around outside all day if they want (even if it’s raining – I bought them mud boots specifically for traveling to Oma and Grandpa’s!), and we can drink our morning coffee on the front porch, watching the bees blunder from flower to flower, listening to the birds, and soaking in the glory of nature.

  7. Heidi says:

    This takes me back to my summers as a child at my grandmother’s. I long to give this experience to my boys!

  8. I love the image of you writing this post on your porch surrounded by the natural elements. Lovely indeed!

  9. julia says:

    Christine. You described this all so beautifully-I felt like I was right there with you the whole day through. And then, there, on your front porch with the cool, fresh air, legs crossed, glass of wine. Ahhh…sounds absolutely perfect. Thank you for taking me with you.

    Sending you love today,

    Julia

  10. Neeroc says:

    Until recently I’ve always had the summer cottage to escape to. It allowed for the mellow down time, the communing with nature, the fresh air and the bugs, but also meant that I could live in the burbs and avoid the commute.
    We’ve just bought a house 17km further out, I’m slowly dragging hubby into the boonies, althought it’s a far way to go until you can have a bonfire around here. Cursed city.

  11. Alana says:

    It sounds like heaven on earth – and I think, that’s what we’re meant to find.

  12. Amber says:

    I have to admit, you make it sound VERY appealing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

