Today

X_at2

Who are you today?

At 2 you are full to brimming with life and spirit.

You know what you want and are determined and stubborn enough to get it.

You find your voice, it fills our home and melts my heart.
Your words and expressions, the very sound of your voice delights me.

You call me mom. I correct you.
Two is too young; I’ve earned a few more years of “mommy”.

You are a sportsman.
You sleep snuggly with a ball.  In the day, you chant hockey over and over.
For a 2-year-old, you have an excellent command of the word zamboni.
Your brave, and willing to try anything physical.
It’s bright in your eyes, a passion for sport.

You look up to your big brother, seeking his interest and approval.
I’m trying hard not to interfere, to force him to notice.
Your relationship should be your own.

You challenge us in ways he never did.
Your defiant. Outright sassy.
Because you are only two, it mostly amuses us.
But we’re ever vigilant, it won’t always be funny.

You refuse to eat vegetables. ANY vegetables.
Except for salsa. How odd.
You do, however, love all things sweet. Your favourite word is “Treat.”
Your voice bounces about the walls as you ask, then demand, and practically beg.
“Treat?!”

You have a little round belly and chubby, short legs that don’t seem to ever want to stop.
You run naked around the house, squealing “naked man!”

Your skin is as soft as velvet,
I kiss and kiss and kiss your cheeks.
Savour the exquisiteness of your hand, caressing it in my own.

It’s not his birthday. I’m enjoying his twoness so much that I wanted to capture it here so I don’t forget.

13 thoughts on “Today

  1. harrietglynn says:

    Lovely. *sniffs* My son is 21 months today so I’ll have to get teach him to say Zamboni! As for salsa, I’ll have to try that!

  2. Christa says:

    I’m a big, big fan of two, in general. Terrible twos? I don’t think so!

  3. Erin says:

    Aren’t boys amazing? Oh, how I love the bussiness, the chaos and never ending “huggles” in the words of my youngest!

  4. Alicia says:

    My little guy just turned two last week and I just keep wishing he could stay this age forever! Our boys sound very similiar in their passion for sports 🙂

  5. Krista says:

    Two is so wonderful… and he is very sweet sounding.

  6. ShannonL says:

    So sweet, Christine! Beautiful words for such a lovely little guy!

  7. Chantal says:

    so sweet! I notice such a change in him. Last time I saw him IRL he was just 1 1/2yo. He is looking so boy! Beautiful post Christine!

  8. Cathy says:

    I love the salsa comment. My kids are the same way – they love salsa but would absolutely die if they had to eat a tomato. Go figure.

    Very sweet – and I’m glad you are enjoying the two’s.

  9. denise says:

    Absolutely love this. And good for you for capturing the trueness of your emotion….just because. xoxo

  10. What a wonderful piece. I love everything about it, including the fact that it’s not his birthday.

  11. Justine says:

    Terrible twos they say, but it’s hard for me to focus on that when their twoness is also as wonderful as you’ve captured of your younger one here. It’s delightful isn’t it? The voice and sass and conversations get me too. Oh how I wish they could always stay this way…

  12. Amber says:

    Today my 2-year-old had a 20-minute-long meltdown because I strapped him into his stroller after he escaped from me and crawled under a fence on our walk. They’re so very, very MUCH, 2-year-olds. Just so MUCH.

Leave a Reply

