Brewing

Blogging? I’m writing a book. Yes. I am.

Amongst the dishes, the laundry, the meal planning and lunch making. In the middle of endless Super Mario Brother marathons, towering cities of blocks and energetic games of hockey. Between practicing letters and numbers and learning to read. For scattered moments on each end of a long commute and days spent at work. In the midst of blogging, and a mountain of Β unread books balanced precariously on my nightstand. Despite my ongoing efforts to get well and because of my efforts to unlock deep and rich parts of myself, wading tenaciously through the flux of emotions that torment me.

I am writing a book.

The words are pouring, syrupy and rich. My fingers tap, tap, tap, flying across the keyboard. I didn’t plan for it to happen. It always seemed like a possibility, but never a certainty. And then, it started. I felt a great well inside of me, a ball of energy that is gathering momentum, spreading and compelling me to just do it.

It takes a great deal of courage for me to declare it here, so publicly. And even more for me to believe that I have something worth saying. But I think I do. And I also think we wait too long for the right time. The right time is an illusion.

So I’m digging in. While I do, I may be around a little less as I balance this between the pace of my everyday life.Β I have no idea what it means, or whether it will lead to anything. That doesn’t matter right now. What matters is pushing forward and letting it all spill.

Image: ‘Blogging?”’ via a Creative Commons license.

37 thoughts on “Brewing

  1. Good for your Christine! Do what your heart says πŸ™‚ You can accomplish anything!

  2. I’m so glad you are!
    I love that the words are just flowing for you and I’m SO curious and excited…about what kind of book and what it will say and I’m just so sure it will be beautiful! Like you!

    xoxo

  3. Corinne says:

    Yay Christine πŸ™‚
    You DO have something to say! Can’t wait to hear it.

  4. Kelly says:

    So inspired by your belief in your own voice and your commitment to yourself. Write on!

  5. Karen says:

    That is SO exciting! I bet it’s going to be fantastic!

  6. Christine! This is so exciting…you go, girl! I can’t wait to read it someday!!

    And yes, we have Super Mario Brothers marathons around here, too — one is going on right now, in fact.

  7. ayala says:

    That’s great. You are right when we wait there’s never the perfect time to do things. I am glad it’s pouring out and I bet that’s a great feeling. Can’t wait to read it when it’s done. πŸ™‚

  8. Smiling huge smiles and feeling the gust of wind in your sails all the way over here. May this process do remarkable, surprising, healing, life-changing things in you and the world – no matter what else comes of it! Woohoo!!!

    xo

  9. Congratulations! How fantastic is that. And it’ll still be fantastic on days when the words aren’t pouring, on days when you’re buried under laundry, on days when you wonder what you’re doing.

    Bravo!

  10. Melissa says:

    Dreaming and doing! Good for you! πŸ™‚

  11. Michelle says:

    Inredibly happy. For you and for me because now I’ll have even more of you to read. Yay!!!

  12. ShannonL says:

    Wow! How exciting, Christine! So happy to see you’re following your dream and just going for it! xo

  13. This is thrilling news! I can’t wait to hear more about it!

  14. Lena says:

    Good for you! A public declaration is also a great way to keep yourself moving, your readers will hold you accountable! Keep us updated, I look forward ti following the progress.

  15. Good luck to you! I have been there, writing between the Cheerio pouring and the preschool pick up, and it’s tough going, but you can do it. I’m in the midst of my second novel now, but taking a hiatus to focus on travel writing. So hard to do it all…

  16. Woofreakinhoo! I’m so excited for you, Christine. You’re SUCH a good writer, I just know this will be amazing, whatever it is πŸ™‚

  17. Eva Evolving says:

    Woo hoo! This is awesome Christine. Thank you for bravely sharing this with us so we can cheer you on!

  18. Kelly said it – write on indeed!

  19. Just write. I keep telling myself that everyday. It’s hard, but you WILL do it. Congrats on this announcement and venture!

  20. Sarah says:

    Yay Yay Yay for you. This is fantastic, C. Especially since it is all coming to you naturally right now. Go with it. Run with it. WRITE with it.
    xo

  21. harrietglynn says:

    You know when it comes easily, it’s the right thing to do. I’m starting to shift the focus on my blog and all of a sudden my blog posts/ideas are coming at me fast and furious. Anyway, congrats. Consider me also “in recovery.

  22. […] feel kind of shy coming here after my grand declaration from earlier this week, mostly because I’ve had a difficult and very keyed up week filled […]

  23. That’s so awesome Christine. So excited for you!

  24. LZ says:

    That’s so great! I can’t wait to hear more about it. What an undertaking…

  25. denise says:

    Hooray! Hooray and so impressed that you’ve said it aloud. Brava, my friend. xo

  26. Here’s what I know. I’ve written several books. And they suck. But they’ve changed me. They’ve made me a better wife, a better mom and a better writer. Of this I am certain: writing my book(s) is taking me on my path and that feels delicious.

    Give yourself permission to suck. Because then you won’t censure yourself and you’ll be able to hear what you’ve always wanted to say.

    I KNOW that’s what I would want to hear from you.

    • Christine says:

      Thank you Rebecca. I really, really needed to read this comment, and to know that no matter what it’s worth it just to do it. With no expectations.

  27. Amber says:

    I love that you’re doing this!

    As you know, I am striving to write a book as well. Honestly, I’m a little stuck right now. But I’ve decided that this month I’m just going to do it, so perhaps I can draw inspiration from you. πŸ™‚

    • Christine says:

      I imagine there will come a time in this process where I feel stuck too. I think that’s only normal right?! At least I hope it is. For now I’m just struggling to find any time to work on it. So who knows how long it will take.

      And you know I’m very excited for your project!! Please let me know if I can send regular affirmations to help keep you going! I think it’s a tremendous idea that you have.

  28. Justine says:

    This is daring, ambitious and WONDERFUL!. I’m so in awe of this move and I will be with you every step of the way, cheering you on, Christine. I can’t wait to read it!

  29. […] It’s writing for someone else and by extension, prescriptive and academic. This blog, and my book are about opening my heart and embracing the art of writing. They are, as so eloquently described […]

Leave a Reply

