The First Day

This came home in my son’s school bag today.
It’s so beautiful, I had to share. It made me cry, because simply, yes.

The First Day

I gave you a little wink and smile
As you entered my room today
For I know how hard it is to leave
And know your child must stay.
You’ve been with him for four years now
And have been a loving guide,
But now, alas, the time has come
To leave him at my side.
Just know that as you drive away
And tears down your cheeks may flow
I’ll love him as I would my own
And help him learn and grow.
For as a parent, I too know
How quickly the years do pass
And remember when it was my turn
To take my child to class.
So please put your mind at ease
And cry those tears no more
For I will love him and take him in
When you leave him at my door.

21 thoughts on “The First Day

  1. subwow says:

    Awwww. {{{hugs}}}

    I see this is as a great sign that the teacher is caring, wise and wonderful!

  2. Oh, this is so beautiful – made me tear up!! And just what I needed to read, right at this moment. My 4 year old is slowly driving me right up a wall tonight, and this gave me the perspective I need. Sigh. As hard as they are, these times go so fast.

    -Ellie

  3. So sweet. Sounds like little man is in good hands, mama.

    xo

  4. kameron says:

    I totally started crying just now. She is awesome for sending that home! You must feel better now!

  5. kelly moniot says:

    okay Christine

    now I am crying like a baby!!!

  6. ShannonL says:

    Okay, you got me! I’m totally crying. That was so sweet! What a great teacher he has!
    xo

  7. denise says:

    Oh gosh. I’m back to when Abby started school. With a tear and a fissure in my heart. Here’s what I wrote when she started kindergarten: http://musingsdemommy.blogspot.com/2008/08/excuse-me-mrs-lagory.html

    That son of yours, he’s in good hands. xoxo

  8. Mel Gallant says:

    awww is right! what a kind message to parents. 🙂

  9. Justine says:

    Gosh – this makes me want to move close to you so my girl can have that teacher too! How lucky!

  10. Corinne says:

    (sniff sniff….) So sweet. What a lovely teacher 🙂

  11. Wow. That is just beautiful. She must be an amazing teacher.

  12. Sara says:

    How reassuring is that? What a wonderful thing for a teacher to do!

  13. Amber says:

    Now I’m crying, too. Sniff!

  14. Leslie says:

    What sweet and comforting words for a meeting/parting! You struck gold with that one, Christine!

  15. becca says:

    Wow -sounds like he’s in the perfect school! Brought tears to my eyes too. I hope the second day went even better than the first. xo

  16. Amber says:

    That teacher obviously gets it.

  17. Rudri says:

    Love the poem and love that the teacher sent it home with him.

  18. Pam says:

    What a caring teacher! I think this is a good sign that this is going to be a good year for all of you. How lucky you are!

  19. […] I fear I’m not doing a very good job of it. I worry about him every day. I see him taking his first tentative steps forward in school and with friends of his own and I want to provide a safe place to land, I want to ensure that his […]

Leave a Reply

