Let's go play

On Saturday my husband went off with oldest to a birthday party. It was the first that he’s been invited to that didn’t involve our own extended group of friends. My husband was delighted that he had been invited. He’d talked about this little boy whom he had met at daycare so much. I was delighted too, but also reminded of how quickly their world changes and becomes about more than just us. I’m not fond of those reminders. I want life to slow down.

So off they went. I stayed behind with our youngest who needed his afternoon nap.  I tucked him into his crib with an eye to my own cozy bed and a good book. I figured I would have at least two hours to sit quietly and read. I was eager!

Only he had different ideas. And after 30 minutes he was still chatting to himself in his crib. It’s not that he was unhappy, the chatter was quite content, but it seemed obvious to me that he wasn’t in need of a nap.

At first I was frustrated. I can’t really relax until I know that my children are sleeping when they should be. It’s the same at night. My evening doesn’t really start until they are out. And I was all geared up for a little me time. The older boys were out and I wanted the youngest boy to sleep.

But as I lay there listening to his chatter I realized the gift that presented to me. I get so little time alone with each of my children and here was the perfect opportunity to spend a little quality time entirely focused on this adorable, little man.

So I went to his room and greeted his eager face with a smile and a hug. “Let’s go play, sweetheart!” And he squealed in delight.

We rumbled around in my bed. He seems to love rolling around in other people’s beds. He’s always crawling into his big brother’s bed. We tickled, snuggled and kissed. We talked about our body parts. He pointed to his nose when I asked and then to mine. He giggled when I talked about our ears and our chins and our cheeks. And then we indulged in the quintessential snack: fish crackers.

It was heaven. It was just what we needed. And I’m so glad I didn’t miss out in spite of myself.

This post is part of Bigger Picture Moments, a series where bloggers step back from the hectic, mind boggling pace of the day, pace of life, and take in the hugeness that is life and the small moments adding up to one Bigger Picture.

25 thoughts on “Let's go play

  1. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    I love those unexpected moments. Pure bliss.

  2. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    I love those unexpected moments. Pure bliss.

  3. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    I love those unexpected moments. Pure bliss.

  4. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    I love those unexpected moments. Pure bliss.

  5. Chantal says:

    Oh I can't wait to enjoy those kinds of moments with D2!

  6. Hyacynth says:

    These moments — the ones I don't anticipate and, sometimes at first, don't necessary want — are the ones that seem to have the sticking power in my mind. I treasure them, and I recall them so very often. Little unexpected gifts. So glad you shared such a beautiful moment. I love your bigger picture.

  7. michelle says:

    I had a day with just my youngest daughter this week and it was totally unexpected. she was a totally different girl without her older brother around. I longed for a nap as well, but cherished those sweet rare moments.

  8. Aging Mommy says:

    I have found myself in the exact same situation time and again – running around trying to do housework with someone following me and asking me to come and play. Sometimes you just have to drop the tea towel and go do just that – moments both mother and child will cherish. Lovely post.

  9. Corinne says:

    Oh I love it!!! What a face! 🙂 He's adorable! And I love that you changed your pace and played…. sometimes it's so much more fun than naptime. Thanks for linking up! 🙂

  10. Kimberly says:

    In recent weeks, my daughter has not been taking her long nap on Saturdays. I was beginning to grow frustrated until I learned to use that extra time as a chance for us to play together. After just a few minutes of playtime, she went down for her nap. I got my me time and the blessing of playtime with her.

  11. ironicmom.com says:

    Gotta love it when our kids make us better people…or at least know what we need.

  12. ShannonL says:

    So sweet! I love the pic! *Me* time is awesome, but sometimes it's these little one-on-one moments that are oh-so special! Glad you made the most of it! 🙂

  13. Kate says:

    It's so easy to get stuck in our expectations and lose the gifts of reality. Good reminder, lovely post, cute little one!

  14. Laanykidsmom says:

    Very sweet. I miss those skipping nap times, just rolling around and playing. Mine are too big for that, but there are other joys to be found at each age, I'm discovering. I just have to keep grabbing those moments!

  15. Rudri says:

    I love those tender moments, especially when they are a surprise. Your doing great job appreciating the bigger picture.

  16. Justine says:

    What a face! Glad you had this time with him. And this? "At first I was frustrated. I can't really relax until I know that my children are sleeping when they should be. It's the same at night. My evening doesn't really start until they are out." ME TOO. I'm the same exact way so much so that My Guy has given up asking me to relax while I wait for her to be asleep.You're right; I often stress about her sleeping habits too and when she isn't, I fail to see that it's an opportunity for me to spend more time with her. And you know as well as I do how precious those moments are when you're away from them more than when you are… Thank you for this.

  17. cristina says:

    what a great moment. I often feel sad that my 2nd doesn't get the undivided attention the fist did, and unfortunately I often miss opportunities to spend that time with him because I'm so busy with "stuff" or am too wrapped up in my own crap. great reminder to take advantage of those precious moments 🙂

  18. Maegan Beishline says:

    I find myself in those same situations where you are looking forward to one thing but one child or another has other plans. I think we gain so much by letting go, giving in, and having fun! I'm s glad you were able to do that with your cute little man!

  19. Stacia says:

    Oh, that sweet face! And sharing goldfish crackers with him all to yourself? What an afternoon! I do relish the one-on-one time, especially now that it's a rarer and rarer thing. Although, like you, I can never focus on anything else while the kiddos are awake and should be asleep. (As I type this my son is chattering to himself and I've got half my brain listening to the monitor). That would be why this comment is so rambly …

  20. Celeste says:

    Lovely moments, Christine. Lately, I find myself experiencing fully and remembering more and more of these times. Knowing that these days are numbered has really helped to slow me down. And that picture is ADORABLE!

  21. Kelly says:

    Definitely the big picture, lady. I am the same way and often find myself just ticking down the minutes between naps and bedtime. But today I laid on a big turquoise bunny and rubbed my daughter's back while she "read" me a book instead of playing outside as she was supposed to. It was magic, and so needed.

  22. Alita- Da Mainiacs says:

    This bigger picture made me smile Christine. A big wide child like smile, because I've been there. All cranky with want of "me" time and then they turn on their total bambino charm. I ended up smiling and laughing harder than I would have with just the "me" time. Still… A little me time never hurts either.Fantastic bigger picture. I think every momma out there can relate to this with a smile!

  23. ck says:

    I love when that happens. Sacrificing something you though you wanted, for something that turns out even better. And moments alone with my second child are some of my favorites.

  24. Amber says:

    This is beautiful, Christine. I feel the same with my kids, when they aren't sleeping I cannot relax. I am learning, though, to not be irritated when things don't go as planned. I think I'll have to read this post over and over again to remind me.

  25. Pam says:

    Good for you for getting over your frustration and recognizing this opportunity for the gift it was. You are such a wise mom. I wish I had done more of that when my girls were younger. I'm afraid I was too blind to see the hidden gifts. I fear I missed out on many such hidden gifts. What a shame.

Leave a Reply

