Summer deprived

I had high expectations for this summer. I envisioned great things. Why? Well the last four summers have been challenging for me.

In 2006 I had my first son, he was born in June. The first eight weeks of motherhood were rocky to say the least. I’m don’t even remember seeing much of the outside. The summer of 2007 my husband and I built our second home, and the opportunities for fun were few and far between. In 2008 I was in the early months of my second pregnancy, very, very sick, and so tired I was in bed most nights by 6:00. Last summer, my youngest was four months and while the second time with a baby was much easier, the four and five wake ups to nurse him did me in for most of that summer.

So, I feel summer deprived. And my deprivation made me very anxious for this summer, ready to fill these blissful months of warmth and sunshine and long days with fun and excitement. Clearly I was a bit deluded. I’m working full time, my children go to bed early every night, and my youngest is still napping, sometimes twice a day. We are still very stuck at home and tied to routines that don’t involve activities of summer’s past.

We don’t live near any great beaches, the parks in our community are less than stellar, and when the weekend comes I’m so tired from commuting that I’m not keen to pack up the car and kids and trek any great distance. So we’ve spent most weekends and evenings at home. This, of course, has it’s advantages. We’re connecting as a family, getting things done, and revelling in a simpler life. I’m reading and blogging up a storm because I’m home so much and my children are in bed so early.

But now that we’ve reached mid-July I’m starting to get antsy. I don’t want another summer to go by leaving me feeling like I missed out. Some of you are writing and tweeting about your summer adventures, trips to the ocean, visits to cottages and road trips and memberships to community pools. I’m envious. There are some exciting things coming up (ahem, BlogHer!) but mostly we have few plans.

So with that we decided this past weekend called for some fun. We ventured to Grandma and Grandpa’s house (okay, so they only live 5 minutes away) but they do live on the lake and the whole family was very ready for a little !!!

Here we are, soaking up the rays, getting a little wet, and generally having some summer fun. I’m not sure why we don’t do this more often.

Happy summer from our family to yours, here’s hoping yours is full of !!!

  
Don’t forget to stop by Momalom and Bad Mommy Moments for your
complete dose of !!! from other fabulous bloggers.

 

Intentional Happiness

Bad Mommy Moments !!!
27 thoughts on “Summer deprived

  1. C (Kid Things) says:

    I feel deprived, too. We don't have a beach nearby (one that I would ever consider going to, anyway). We have yet to go to the pool. We don't have vacation plans. I want to do something fun and memorable, but we just end up sitting around in the air conditioning most days.By the way, I applaud your bravery, though you look very cute.

  2. melissa says:

    Intentional summer fun = excellent. We're mostly having low-key summer fun this year. Running in sprinklers, playing at the park, doing nothing… hmm, this may not sound like "fun" yet. But I'm feeling large and hot and not-quite-due-yet, so it's hard to get up the initiative to make bigger plans. Summer will come again, though! And that will be perhaps more actively fun that this one. Maybe. No guarantees. 🙂

  3. Rudri says:

    Christine, You got make the best of it! Sounds like you did by the pics. A house on the lake only five minutes away – that is great !!!Oh, I wish I knew about BlogHer early in the game. I am so envious that so many people will be able to meet each other in person. So cool. Have fun! And I hope to come next year.

  4. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    What a fun weekend. And you look great!We don't really have any plans either. Just some extended family time. But there is a beach calling my name in a few weeks.

  5. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    What a fun weekend. And you look great!We don't really have any plans either. Just some extended family time. But there is a beach calling my name in a few weeks.

  6. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    What a fun weekend. And you look great!We don't really have any plans either. Just some extended family time. But there is a beach calling my name in a few weeks.

  7. Allison @ Alli 'n Son says:

    What a fun weekend. And you look great!We don't really have any plans either. Just some extended family time. But there is a beach calling my name in a few weeks.

  8. Justine says:

    Good for you guys Christine – Glad you are taking advantage of the heat and humidity. Theoretically it sounds awful but after months of the cold, I welcome the perpetual beads of sweat on my forehead and the too-hot sun on my arms.I'm with Rudri – wish I'd known about BlogHer sooner (and that it wasn't my birthday weekend where I'd like to be with my family). But yes, there's always next year.

  9. Corinne says:

    That looks like it was refreshing and fun 🙂 {can't wait to see you!!}

  10. Aging Mommy says:

    If we had grandparents nearby and they lived on a lake I think we'd be there every weekend, whether they wanted us there or not 🙂 Glad you got out and looks like everyone had a lot of fun!

  11. Chantal says:

    I find myself trying to cram everything in and getting tired from it. It is nice you have grandparents so close, my mom is 1.5 hours away, but we still try and go as much as we can.

  12. Hyacynth says:

    I felt this way the summer I was pregnant with G. I was due in late July/early August and it was so stinkin' hot. I'm glad you got a taste of summer.And you look nice in your suit!

  13. theycallmejane says:

    What wonderful !!!'s – and you in the suit? You rock, Mom!

  14. becca says:

    Ahhh…. summer. There is nothing better in my book! So glad you captured these moments… and lived in the moments! Your family is beautiful (and so are you!)

  15. Sarah says:

    So, is it a terrible surprise that I totally know what you mean? I feel like every summer has been filled up with something…too much work, little tiny babies, bad weather, botched plans, something. The time, it goes by too quickly, the summer dwindles down to nothing, and then there we are in winter, wishing for it all over again. I just can't seem to slow things down. I've determined that that's what I really need to do. S-L-O-W it down…. can we possibly figure out a way?

  16. Amber says:

    We have a beach nearby, in fact we have a few, but I never go there. Me and two kids feels like just WAY too much work. I feel kind of sheepish about that, though. I need to work on it.

  17. Blissed-Out Grandma says:

    Seriously, Christine, you have grandparents on a lake 5 minutes from home, and you're not there every weekend? I'd keep a bag packed with all the swim gear and sunscreen and towels! And I'd even bring the husband and kids along! 🙂

  18. evaevolving says:

    I hear you, Christine! I echo your words. What is it about the arrival of July 15 that makes us panic a little bit, realizing summer is half over?? Last summer – the first "Summer of Dad" when my father-in-law lived with us – I felt a bit deprived of my usual summer bliss. My life wasn't my own, in a way. And I'm trying to fight that feeling this year, the second Summer of Dad. I'm trying to make time for myself, whether it be going to yoga or taking a long bike ride alone or reading in my yard.I hope you take advantage of that beautiful lake at your parents' place more often for the remainder of summer!

  19. Stacia says:

    Little boys in floppy hats and maple-leaf swim trunks? Too, too sweet and very, very !!! Summer is my least favorite time of year because I spend three months in a perpetual wilt, but these pictures almost make me want to head outside … and that's saying something!

  20. ShannonL says:

    Awesome pics, Christine! Um, WHY do you not go to your parents' house more often! Wow! I do understand, though. Working all week, there is so much to DO on the weekends! A trip to Grandma's is a full day event and then the weekend is practically gone! But sometimes you just have to forget it all and put FUN first. Looks like you had a great time! 🙂

  21. Capital Mom says:

    That sounds like a plan to repeat!I would be seriously lost without the park and wading pool near our house. It is a great thing for the kids, but me too. 🙂

  22. da mainiac mama says:

    What a relaxing !!! moment. And one to be repeated for sure.I understand summer rearing. My bambinos are both under the astrological sign of Leo, so I've spent many a summer day at home in the shade nursing baby boys. Now that they are older though… The past 2 summers have been glorious! You will get there soon. Little boys and long summer days go hand in hand 🙂

  23. Amy Whitley says:

    Those lake photos are iconic of summer! I know the grass is always greener on the other side and all that, but we're so busy in summer (nature of my travel writing job) that sometimes I envy people who are enjoying a relaxed summer of backyard fun, cool drinks, etc. We just got home, and our backyard is a dead mess of weeds and dry grass. Ick.

  24. Pam says:

    Glad you got a little fix of summer! Since grandma and grandpa are only 5 minutes away and on a lake, it makes sense to try to squeeze a few more visits in this summer.I totally get your summer deprivation feeling. Every year I have great expectations of how wonderful the long, relaxed sunny, summer days are going to be and every year it never quite works out that way. I never get to the beach as much as I think I will (if at all), my work schedule seems to get in the way of other "fieldtrips", my girls are too busy with their own plans/friends and I still have all the regular household chores to do. Not to mention that there are really only 10 weeks (and weekends) of summer. All that leads to a big let down each and every summer. And each and every summer I never fail to be surprised by that. Hope springs eternal, I guess.

  25. ck says:

    I've felt the same way for the last six weeks. With so much going on I haven't had time to just play in the pool or go to the beach. Think about nothing. Get bored. I was totally feeling summer deprived. Seeing these photos has inspired me to just find the !!! in the quiet moments, no matter how few and far between they are.

  26. harriet glynn says:

    Summer is tough when you have little, little people. We finally forced our son to stay up for Jazz in the Park, which, get this, ran from 6:30 to 7:30! Wow we are living large!

  27. Kelly says:

    Looks like a fun trip (and you look fantastic). We've done a few fun things, but it's so hot outside that no one — even the kids — wants to be out there.

Leave a Reply

