Comments and frustration

A couple of months ago I switched from the Blogger commenting system to Disqus. I wanted threaded comments because, in the end, a blog is a more meaningful and engaging place when the discussion can easily continue through the comments.

At first it was great, but lately the platform has been causing frustration for several of you who visit Coffees & Commutes. I can’t say why it isn’t working, it’s up to the folks at Disqus to figure out, but it’s no longer working for me. Commenting should be easy, that’s the whole point! So, I apologize if you’ve tried to comment and have had nothing but trouble. I’m working on reverting back to the Blogger commenting system, and in the coming weeks will be migrating my blog over to the WordPress platform where, once again, I hope to be able to engage in conversations through threaded commenting. (Pssst, and I’ll be sporting a whole new look too!)

As my blog has grown and changed, so have my needs. I appreciate you staying with me in this period of transition and as I get it all sorted out. I’ll always be at http://www.coffeesandcommutes.com/, but you’ll see things changing soon.

In the meantime, this post is a test as I try to figure out how to revert back to the Blogger commenting system. Technology is not my forte, so it might take a few tries for me to get this right.

22 thoughts on “Comments and frustration

  1. ShannonL says:

    Oooh, can't wait to see your new look! Good luck!

  2. C (Kid Things) says:

    A few months back I thought about going to Disqus even though I'm on WP, just because I thought it might be easier (not that the threaded reply feature in WP isn't easy, but I'm always on the search for better). I'm glad I didn't after hearing of so many problems. Can't wait to see the new look!

  3. Aging Mommy says:

    I'm interested to know you have had problems with Disqus. One of the things I would love to do is as you say, have more of a conversation within comments and don't like that I can't do that right now. Good luck with your move, look forward to seeing the new look.

  4. Sarah says:

    It's bittersweet, but oh, yes… this will be better til you make the transition. Can't wait!

  5. Rudri says:

    Not on Disqus, but WP seems to work for me. Good luck on transitioning. Can't wait for the new look!

  6. Everyday Kathy says:

    OH, I am sorry to hear this… I just started with disqus for the same reasons… so far it has been working. I did have a small problem and I wrote to their help desk and they fixed it right away. I am also thinking about a word press switch so I am excited to see your new look.

  7. Amber says:

    I'm sorry things aren't working. Even though I consider myself technically adept, wrestling with the blog isn't exactly my idea of fun. I hope that everything is functioning normally for you soon.

  8. Blissed-Out Grandma says:

    Well, this comment system seems to be working, anyway. I'm interested to hear that Disqus has problems…was thinking about switching to that. Will also be interested to hear about your transition to WP and how that goes.

  9. Kelly says:

    The good news is you did it! I don't have any bad news …

  10. Christy says:

    Me too – cant' wait to see the new place πŸ™‚

  11. Amy Whitley says:

    My feelings exactly, concerning the comment trouble. I'm switching to WP too. Maybe I'll email you to pick your brain.

  12. becca says:

    I'm back!!! Yeah! Can't wait to see your new look too!

  13. Leslie says:

    Testing, testing! 1, 2, 3…Excited about updates, and here's hoping your comment woes are soon over!

  14. Allison Butt says:

    Glad you are switching back. Can't wait to see the updated look!

  15. BigLittleWolf says:

    We'll hang in there with you – not to worry! (I am also tweaking my blog as my needs have grown and changed. UGH. I hope all of you will bear with me as well!)Meanwhile, I'm happy on your couch, reading. Not planning on missing that, technology changes or otherwise.(No complaints for me this Monday! Or should I say !!! Saving the complaint department for another day, or another week…)

  16. cjschlottman says:

    I'm hanging in there with you!! So sorry about your troubles. I'm trying to figure out how to create a link in a post to another blog. Not much luck so far, so I understand your frustration.

  17. Justine says:

    Ooh I can't wait to see the new you! Intense Debate is working well for me (for comments) but it was the editing tool of Blogger that was driving me nuts. Ever since I started using Windows Live Writer, it has been a dream. Wish you luck in your transition!

  18. Leslie says:

    Testing, testing! 1, 2, 3…A little ironically, Blogger isn't working in my area today!But here's hoping that your comments woes are soon over – and cheers to new developments at C&C!

  19. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    Hope that your transition goes smoothly, my friend. And you know I'll be with you, wherever you go or however we comment! xo

  20. Charlotte says:

    Every day I feel like I'm getting closer to switching over, too. For me it is all about threaded comments without all the bugs of Discus or Intense Debate.

  21. Hyacynth says:

    Hi Christine! Thanks for stopping by today and reading and commenting. Glad to meet you. πŸ™‚ I disliked the same thing about blogger commenting so much that a few weeks back I tried to switch to Disqus, but it absolutely would not work. {Even tech savvy hubby tried to no avail.} Guess I should count my blessings? lol. Look forward to commenting with you even if it is on blogger. πŸ™‚

  22. alita says:

    Change is good. It is a simple fact and a simple word. GOOD! Looking forward to seeing the changes and commenting on future endeavors.

Leave a Reply

