Seven Years Old

A dear friend, someone I look up to and value in my life, shared this poem with me. This woman has been there for me a lot recently, in times when I really needed it. For that I’m grateful. I hope to be the same for her on her own journey. What she’s allowed me to share with you is haunting, soulful, and so raw it’s painful. I think it’s important that we lift the veil on such tragedies of youth so that we raise awareness and learn to protect.
Seven Years Old
seven years old
lost my innocence
not lost, but taken
taken from a child by a child
who seemed so old
so handsome, so charming, so ‘cool’
I don’t resent
I don’t hate
he was but a child
who seemed so old
I forgot it as most girls do
my awakening was not a nightmare
however laced with tears
submerged in emotion
for an innocence lost
an innocence I didn’t know I had
an innocence I didn’t remember losing
I don’t resent
I don’t hate
he was but a child
who seemed so old
seven years old, locked for 20 more
affecting, rejecting, neglecting
myself, my lovers, my feelings
without understanding
it all makes sense now
fear, anxiety, pain, tears
not natural reactions
to an act of love
in love, with love, for love
the body remembers
what the mind represses
I don’t resent
I don’t hate
he was but a child
who seemed so old
tears cleanse
time hides, but time heals
a wall of repression
replaced my innocence
I knocked it down
never knowing it was there
I must have felt ready
ready to heal and reclaim love
make love, in love, for love
Leave a Reply

