New name – New home

Those of you who follow me on Twitter will recall that a few weeks ago I received a letter from a national organization arguing that my previous blog name was in violation of their registered trademark.

The letter came as an unexpected shock. I was particularly upset by the severity and absurdity of their assertion. Nowhere on my blog have I ever engaged in any form of misrepresentation, merchandising or advertising, let alone that which would relate to, or threaten this national organization. If they had taken the time to read they would have quickly seen that I am a Canadian blogger who writes about my life as a mother and working professional and that I represent only myself. Our identities are in fact, quite distinct.

I did seek legal counsel. I was lucky enough to receive free legal advice from a kind Ottawa lawyer. He  provided me with some assurances that I was, in fact, within my rights. I wrote a response establishing that I was in no way representing myself as being associated with their organization and as such there was no infringement claim. I sent the letter just a couple of weeks ago. I’ve heard nothing since.

However, the situation gave me pause for thought. Rather than look at it as an affront, I decided to take it as an opportunity to re-evaluate my blog. When I first started blogging I intended for it to be a private place where I could go to put words to my thoughts. A place where I could indulge in a little self exploration as a new mother. It evolved and became something more. It became a place to share these feelings with others and find support and kindness from others who had similar experiences. It has been cathartic, and extremely gratifying. I discovered it was time to create something that was more a reflection of what I wanted it to be.
 
So here we are: a new name, a new address, a new purpose. For those of you who read regularly, you won’t notice much difference in content. I’ll write the same kinds of things I always have. But I hope to continue to evolve and grow my blog as I continue my adventure in self discovery. This feels more like a home for who I really am. I hope you’ll continue to join me on this journey.

21 thoughts on “New name – New home

  1. coffeewithjulie says:

    Yep, I'll definitely follow you along on your journey! πŸ™‚

  2. Mom2Michael says:

    I've been meaning to send you a note to see how this all turned out. You sound content with this new name and I'm happy to tag along and support you on your "adventure in self discovery" (I like that!) Let's hope that crazy organisation stays out of your hair.I like this name a lot. Kinda wish I'd thought of it first πŸ˜‰

  3. Lara says:

    Making the change right now πŸ™‚ I'm glad this feels more like you too… sometimes my blog name doesn't feel like it fits as well anymore either.

  4. Lisa @ This Mommy Works says:

    Great way to take a negative and turn it into a positive! I'll follow you here!

  5. Christy says:

    I'm sorry that you went through that, but like Lisa said – what a great way to turn a negative into a positive. As always, I look forward to hearing what you have to say and thank you for welcoming us into your new home!

  6. A Crafty Mom says:

    What an ordeal . . . but I am happy it is all resolved and I love your new home. Looking forward to having coffee with you here many times πŸ™‚

  7. Chantal says:

    I love it!

  8. Jana@Attitude Adjustment says:

    Wow, that letter would freak me out! I'm glad you got the legal issues worked out, and I like your new title.

  9. JackiYo says:

    Love the new name. Represents you and your blog wonderfully. πŸ™‚

  10. Sarah says:

    Yay! Fruition!It looks great… definitely worked out for the best in the end. Good on you!

  11. mari says:

    It sounds like that letter was as cathartic for you as the blog as been. Seems like the perfect chance to move digs. Like the new look!

  12. Allison says:

    Congrats on the new name, even if it came out of a bad situation. I like it!

  13. lz says:

    Huh? I can't even imagine who would have issue with that name! doesn't every coffee place have a Lite Mocha? Whatever…I like the new name! Do we need to resubscribe?

  14. Pam says:

    Unbelievable. But I agree with the commenters who praised you for making lemons out of lemonade. I'll be adding your new home to my reader.

  15. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    Welcome to your new space, Christine. It has been a pleasure getting to know you and I look forward to joining you here.

  16. Amy Whitley says:

    Wow, that sounds crazy! Glad you got it worked out and behind you. Since I never knew the 'old' you, I'll just jump right in with the new! πŸ™‚

  17. happygal says:

    Wow, what a shock that must have been. However, I think you handled it with great dignity and professionalism. Way to take the high road!

  18. becca says:

    I had no idea you went through that Christine but I'm happy to follow you on over here! Looks great and I always love your words!

  19. Beth @writesourcing says:

    Sometimes it takes the bad to push us to re-evaluate. Glad it all worked out and love your new name!!

  20. […] you’ve been reading Coffees & Commutes since it’s inception, you may be able to trace the path of literary influence I’ve followed all year through […]

  21. […] been blogging for almost 3 years, but this week I celebrate a year at Coffees & Commutes. This blog developed completely by chance, the result of circumstances […]

Leave a Reply

