What is comfort?

To my 1-year-old comfort is a quiet cuddle while nursing with mommy. It’s knowing that when he cries in the night mommy or daddy will come and quietly pat his bum and stroke his cheek while he settles back to sleep. It’s a cottony receiving blanket that he reaches for whenever he needs to feel secure. It’s a daytime caregiver who loves him and cares for him as if he were her own. It’s a big brother who plays with him, cuddles him and treats him like a friend. It’s a mommy who just can’t get enough kisses and snuggles.

To my 3 1/2 year-old it’s four cozy blankets, two crocheted, two fleece. It’s a soother that he can’t bear to part with and still needs to sleep at night. It’s a ball of fluff that he’s curled between his fingers every night since he was 8-months-old. It’s two parents who love him, hug him, kiss him, read to him and play with him as if he were the most important person on the planet, because of course in those moments he is. It’s a grandfather who worships him and makes an effort to see him almost every day. It’s friends at daycare who he knows will always be there to play with and miss him when he’s not.

To me it’s sitting in my baby’s nursery at night enveloped in the warmth and comfort of it. It’s routine, predictable and manageable. It’s cozy jammies and a good book at night to relax and take me away. It’s parents who love me and support me in so many ways. It’s friends I can count on, and know will not judge. It’s my beautiful children, my husband, my home and all of the love that surrounds me.

13 thoughts on “What is comfort?

  1. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    Christine, if you're going to make me tear up with every post, I'm going to have to stop reading your magnificent pieces! 😉 What a sweet, beautiful reflection on the meaning of comfort.

  2. Sarah says:

    Beauty. That was beautiful.

  3. Stephanie says:

    Lovely post.

  4. Loukia says:

    God, Christine, that was a beautiful and so true post. I loved reading that. It warmed my heart!

  5. becca says:

    I love love loved that. Comfort is a beautiful thing. Giving it and receiving it.

  6. Kerrie says:

    I do hope you realize how your words touch us…the way you embrace the true essence of parenting. Thank you for sharing your delightful, loving thoughts.

  7. Mocha Dad says:

    Comfort is holding on to three cuddly children while they giggle at the falling snow.

  8. Chantal says:

    Beautiful, such a wonderful perspective. YOu will have to reread this one on those bad days 🙂

  9. Cheryl says:

    Beautifully expressed.

  10. Anita says:

    I love the way you are able to identify comfort, and the relationship you are building with your sons is going to be just as invaluable as the one your parents clearly built with you. Thank you for sharing all of your comforts.

  11. Blissed-Out Grandma says:

    Beautiful. It's important to know we have support from people who love us and won't judge!

  12. Rachel Cotterill says:

    To me, it's having my husband by my side wherever I travel, and knowing that my home will always be there when I get back. It's sitting on the sofa under my little blanket and curling up with a cup of coffee. It's having parents I love and trust, who will always be there no matter what, and a great set of friends of whom that's always true. It's probably a whole load of other things as well, but that's what comes to mind first :)Great post, very thought-provoking 🙂

  13. Jenny says:

    Beautiful.

Leave a Reply

