Why I'm proud to call myself mommy

My friend Maria from BORED Mommy recently had an offensive comment left on one of her posts. I had some choice words to say when I read it, I’ll assure you they weren’t all that polite so I won’t share them here. But Maria asked if I would write a post about why I am proud to be called Mommy. I was very honoured to do so.

There is an old saying: Any man can be a father, but it takes someone special to be a daddy. Without a doubt, this goes both ways. Any person can be a parent, but it takes someone special to be a mommy or daddy. Both words compel one to think of love, commitment, complete security and comfort, hard work, devotion. There are countless strong, good, meaningful ways to describe the feelings the words mommy and daddy evoke. They are the same words that describe the very important role a mommy/daddy plays in the lives of their children. I will never forget the first time my son called me mommy. To this day, even though I’ve heard it hundreds of time, I still get chills when my son calls me Mommy. I often stop to just savour the moment and remind myself how precious it is to hear. What an honour, what a privilege. I am proud beyond measure of this title. Truth be told, it is without a doubt the only title I care to have.

  • I am PROUD that I made it through two pregnancies filled with heartburn, nausea, vomiting, fear, anticipation, excitement and so much more.
  • I am PROUD that I survived more 45 hours of labour between two births, of which both ended in major surgery to birth my children my children safely.
  • I am PROUD that I have nursed my children for more than 24 months combined and that I’m still going with my second baby.
  • I am PROUD to work hard and set a positive example for my children through my actions and words.
  • I am PROUD to have created these two precious souls, both of whom are angels sent from God.
  • I am PROUD to make a difference in the lives of my children however small each day, so that they learn to move forward in the world with confidence and secure in the knowledge that someone loves them beyond measure.

I’d love to hear about why you are proud to call yourself mommy. Leave a comment here, or for Maria. Let’s celebrate the joy that is mommyhood together.

44 thoughts on “Why I'm proud to call myself mommy

  1. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    Great Post Christine. I believe we've earned the right to call ourselves whatever we want to be called, without judgment. And its the support of each other that will allow us to thrive both as mommies and as women.Thanks for writing a post Christine. I value you as my friend and fellow Mommy!!

  2. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    Great Post Christine. I believe we've earned the right to call ourselves whatever we want to be called, without judgment. And its the support of each other that will allow us to thrive both as mommies and as women.Thanks for writing a post Christine. I value you as my friend and fellow Mommy!!

  3. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    Great Post Christine. I believe we've earned the right to call ourselves whatever we want to be called, without judgment. And its the support of each other that will allow us to thrive both as mommies and as women.Thanks for writing a post Christine. I value you as my friend and fellow Mommy!!

  4. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    Great Post Christine. I believe we've earned the right to call ourselves whatever we want to be called, without judgment. And its the support of each other that will allow us to thrive both as mommies and as women.Thanks for writing a post Christine. I value you as my friend and fellow Mommy!!

  5. Samantha @ Mama Notes says:

    great post!!

  6. Charlotte says:

    I carry the title mother with pride. There is something special about them calling you mommy. Being a true mother (or father) isn't about biology at all, it is about the sort if things you've listed here!

  7. Samantha @ Mama Notes says:

    great post!!

  8. Charlotte says:

    I carry the title mother with pride. There is something special about them calling you mommy. Being a true mother (or father) isn't about biology at all, it is about the sort if things you've listed here!

  9. Samantha @ Mama Notes says:

    great post!!

  10. Charlotte says:

    I carry the title mother with pride. There is something special about them calling you mommy. Being a true mother (or father) isn't about biology at all, it is about the sort if things you've listed here!

  11. Samantha @ Mama Notes says:

    great post!!

  12. Charlotte says:

    I carry the title mother with pride. There is something special about them calling you mommy. Being a true mother (or father) isn't about biology at all, it is about the sort if things you've listed here!

  13. Charlotte says:

    I just read the post you linked to and I was shocked. The problem was with the actual word "Mommy"?!? That is a term of endearment and one that represents a lot of sacrifice. Why wouldn't anyone be proud to have it used for them?

  14. Charlotte says:

    I just read the post you linked to and I was shocked. The problem was with the actual word "Mommy"?!? That is a term of endearment and one that represents a lot of sacrifice. Why wouldn't anyone be proud to have it used for them?

  15. Charlotte says:

    I just read the post you linked to and I was shocked. The problem was with the actual word "Mommy"?!? That is a term of endearment and one that represents a lot of sacrifice. Why wouldn't anyone be proud to have it used for them?

  16. Charlotte says:

    I just read the post you linked to and I was shocked. The problem was with the actual word "Mommy"?!? That is a term of endearment and one that represents a lot of sacrifice. Why wouldn't anyone be proud to have it used for them?

  17. Finola says:

    My youngest daughter is 5, and she regularly tells me that I am the best mommy in the world and that she wouldn't want any other mother than me. It makes me feel like I must be doing something right, even though most days I feel like I am just a mediocre mom.

  18. Finola says:

    My youngest daughter is 5, and she regularly tells me that I am the best mommy in the world and that she wouldn't want any other mother than me. It makes me feel like I must be doing something right, even though most days I feel like I am just a mediocre mom.

  19. Finola says:

    My youngest daughter is 5, and she regularly tells me that I am the best mommy in the world and that she wouldn't want any other mother than me. It makes me feel like I must be doing something right, even though most days I feel like I am just a mediocre mom.

  20. Finola says:

    My youngest daughter is 5, and she regularly tells me that I am the best mommy in the world and that she wouldn't want any other mother than me. It makes me feel like I must be doing something right, even though most days I feel like I am just a mediocre mom.

  21. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    My two-year-old has called me many things: Mama, Mommy, Mom. To me, they are all honorifics, symbols of the work that I do and the love that I give. I am proud to have earned all of those titles. As Charlotte said, why should any of us be ashamed to embrace a term of endearment from the most important people in our lives?

  22. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    My two-year-old has called me many things: Mama, Mommy, Mom. To me, they are all honorifics, symbols of the work that I do and the love that I give. I am proud to have earned all of those titles. As Charlotte said, why should any of us be ashamed to embrace a term of endearment from the most important people in our lives?

  23. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    My two-year-old has called me many things: Mama, Mommy, Mom. To me, they are all honorifics, symbols of the work that I do and the love that I give. I am proud to have earned all of those titles. As Charlotte said, why should any of us be ashamed to embrace a term of endearment from the most important people in our lives?

  24. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    My two-year-old has called me many things: Mama, Mommy, Mom. To me, they are all honorifics, symbols of the work that I do and the love that I give. I am proud to have earned all of those titles. As Charlotte said, why should any of us be ashamed to embrace a term of endearment from the most important people in our lives?

  25. Allison says:

    I was just thinking about this very thing as I drove home from grocery shopping today. My son called me from the back seat and I got warm fuzzies all over. I'm proud to be the momma of such a wonderful little boy, proud that I can stay at home with him, and proud that he has such a wonderful "Dad-oo".

  26. Allison says:

    I was just thinking about this very thing as I drove home from grocery shopping today. My son called me from the back seat and I got warm fuzzies all over. I'm proud to be the momma of such a wonderful little boy, proud that I can stay at home with him, and proud that he has such a wonderful "Dad-oo".

  27. Allison says:

    I was just thinking about this very thing as I drove home from grocery shopping today. My son called me from the back seat and I got warm fuzzies all over. I'm proud to be the momma of such a wonderful little boy, proud that I can stay at home with him, and proud that he has such a wonderful "Dad-oo".

  28. Allison says:

    I was just thinking about this very thing as I drove home from grocery shopping today. My son called me from the back seat and I got warm fuzzies all over. I'm proud to be the momma of such a wonderful little boy, proud that I can stay at home with him, and proud that he has such a wonderful "Dad-oo".

  29. Nena says:

    Great post Christine. I 1000% agree with you. There is nothing wrong with "Mommy" and I am certainly proud for all the same reasons as you are.

  30. Nena says:

    Great post Christine. I 1000% agree with you. There is nothing wrong with "Mommy" and I am certainly proud for all the same reasons as you are.

  31. Nena says:

    Great post Christine. I 1000% agree with you. There is nothing wrong with "Mommy" and I am certainly proud for all the same reasons as you are.

  32. Nena says:

    Great post Christine. I 1000% agree with you. There is nothing wrong with "Mommy" and I am certainly proud for all the same reasons as you are.

  33. Loukia says:

    Great post, MOMMY!

  34. Loukia says:

    Great post, MOMMY!

  35. Loukia says:

    Great post, MOMMY!

  36. Loukia says:

    Great post, MOMMY!

  37. Rachel H says:

    Hey…let the idiots be offended. They obviously have issues and definately didn't need to "work" for the honor of being called Mommy.

  38. Rachel H says:

    Hey…let the idiots be offended. They obviously have issues and definately didn't need to "work" for the honor of being called Mommy.

  39. Rachel H says:

    Hey…let the idiots be offended. They obviously have issues and definately didn't need to "work" for the honor of being called Mommy.

  40. Rachel H says:

    Hey…let the idiots be offended. They obviously have issues and definately didn't need to "work" for the honor of being called Mommy.

  41. Pam says:

    I think being a mother is the most difficult and undervalued job anyone will every have. I can not imagine why anyone would not be proud to be a mother. On the other hand, there is no shame in not being a mother. But no woman should be shamed to be proud of her status as mommy.

  42. Pam says:

    I think being a mother is the most difficult and undervalued job anyone will every have. I can not imagine why anyone would not be proud to be a mother. On the other hand, there is no shame in not being a mother. But no woman should be shamed to be proud of her status as mommy.

  43. Pam says:

    I think being a mother is the most difficult and undervalued job anyone will every have. I can not imagine why anyone would not be proud to be a mother. On the other hand, there is no shame in not being a mother. But no woman should be shamed to be proud of her status as mommy.

  44. Pam says:

    I think being a mother is the most difficult and undervalued job anyone will every have. I can not imagine why anyone would not be proud to be a mother. On the other hand, there is no shame in not being a mother. But no woman should be shamed to be proud of her status as mommy.

Leave a Reply

