It was amazing

We’re in Florida right now, enjoying a family vacation away from the cold, snow and most importantly cumbersome snowsuits. While here, we decided that, even though our children are young, we would do a couple of days at Walt Disney World.

Certainly we aren’t doing a seven day extravaganza, that would be foolish and far too hard on them. So far we’ve spent a day at Magic Kingdom, and next week we’ll do a day at Hollywood Studios. I don’t expect they’ll remember, but what appealed to us was the fact that our oldest (who is 3 1/2) still believes the characters are real and gets real joy from meeting and hugging them. I wanted to experience the innocence and joy of this. I believed it would illustrate the real magic of Disney.

I can honestly say our first day was a roaring success. The weather was cool, but sunny. This meant that the park was relatively quiet. We rarely waited more than 10 minutes for a ride, and for those we really enjoyed we, quite frequently, were able to just hop right back on. This was perfect for an impatient preschooler. In just under eight hours enjoyed just about every ride, some more than once.

What was also incredible was that our 11-month-old was able to join us on most rides. Though young, he too was enchanted by his surroundings and full of smiles. His overactive curiosity was more than satisfied throughout the day. Disney is truly a place that accomodates the whole family.

On our visit we met Minnie Mouse, Chip & Dale and Pluto. We saw Winnie the Pooh, Tigger, Woody, Buzz Lightyear, Cinderella, Peter Pan, Captain Hook and many more. It was without a doubt, magical. I admit that I may have been the most excited!

I didn’t put a lot of advance planning into our day, beyond a breakfast reservation. I was a bit nervous that the day would be disorganized, that we might miss out. But we didn’t at all. Beyond experiencing most rides, we were treated to two parades and two shows. I’m so pleased that we were able to enjoy so much!

When the day was over, and after the journey back to our vacation rental, we were treated to a very gratifying reflection on the day. Just before bed, our 3-year-old told us: “It was amazing.” That was all the thanks and reassurance I needed to know we’d made the right decision.

– Posted using BlogPress from my iPhone

32 thoughts on “It was amazing

  1. @WannabeMomErin says:

    I'm so glad that you had a great time.Disney should pay you for posting this, because after reading it, I can't wait to bring my own kids there someday.

  2. @WannabeMomErin says:

    I'm so glad that you had a great time.Disney should pay you for posting this, because after reading it, I can't wait to bring my own kids there someday.

  3. @WannabeMomErin says:

    I'm so glad that you had a great time.Disney should pay you for posting this, because after reading it, I can't wait to bring my own kids there someday.

  4. @WannabeMomErin says:

    I'm so glad that you had a great time.Disney should pay you for posting this, because after reading it, I can't wait to bring my own kids there someday.

  5. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    I can't wait to take the kids to Disney – I'm so glad you're having a wonderful time!! (minus the tattoo situation of course)

  6. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    I can't wait to take the kids to Disney – I'm so glad you're having a wonderful time!! (minus the tattoo situation of course)

  7. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    I can't wait to take the kids to Disney – I'm so glad you're having a wonderful time!! (minus the tattoo situation of course)

  8. Maria @BOREDmommy says:

    I can't wait to take the kids to Disney – I'm so glad you're having a wonderful time!! (minus the tattoo situation of course)

  9. Lara says:

    That's awesome! I'm so glad it went well. I think Disney is often about the parents as much as the kids – I know *I* really want to go and enjoy it one day and it'll be a bonus that the kids should enjoy it too. hehe. Hope the rest of your trip is as great and can't wait to hear more about it!

  10. Lara says:

    That's awesome! I'm so glad it went well. I think Disney is often about the parents as much as the kids – I know *I* really want to go and enjoy it one day and it'll be a bonus that the kids should enjoy it too. hehe. Hope the rest of your trip is as great and can't wait to hear more about it!

  11. Lara says:

    That's awesome! I'm so glad it went well. I think Disney is often about the parents as much as the kids – I know *I* really want to go and enjoy it one day and it'll be a bonus that the kids should enjoy it too. hehe. Hope the rest of your trip is as great and can't wait to hear more about it!

  12. Lara says:

    That's awesome! I'm so glad it went well. I think Disney is often about the parents as much as the kids – I know *I* really want to go and enjoy it one day and it'll be a bonus that the kids should enjoy it too. hehe. Hope the rest of your trip is as great and can't wait to hear more about it!

  13. Sarah says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I can't wait to take my boys there. The first time I went I was 21 and I got a little teary during the parade. Love that place!

  14. Sarah says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I can't wait to take my boys there. The first time I went I was 21 and I got a little teary during the parade. Love that place!

  15. Sarah says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I can't wait to take my boys there. The first time I went I was 21 and I got a little teary during the parade. Love that place!

  16. Sarah says:

    Sounds like so much fun! I can't wait to take my boys there. The first time I went I was 21 and I got a little teary during the parade. Love that place!

  17. Amanda says:

    wow, sounds like a fantastic day filled with family, love and fun! Isn't the look on the kids faces priceless when they get to see their favourite characters life size in person? Can't wait to go with our kids, or at least once our first bun in the oven comes out this Spring!

  18. Amanda says:

    wow, sounds like a fantastic day filled with family, love and fun! Isn't the look on the kids faces priceless when they get to see their favourite characters life size in person? Can't wait to go with our kids, or at least once our first bun in the oven comes out this Spring!

  19. Amanda says:

    wow, sounds like a fantastic day filled with family, love and fun! Isn't the look on the kids faces priceless when they get to see their favourite characters life size in person? Can't wait to go with our kids, or at least once our first bun in the oven comes out this Spring!

  20. Amanda says:

    wow, sounds like a fantastic day filled with family, love and fun! Isn't the look on the kids faces priceless when they get to see their favourite characters life size in person? Can't wait to go with our kids, or at least once our first bun in the oven comes out this Spring!

  21. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    What a coincidence – I just got back from Orlando today! I was so interested to hear about your experience. We ended up not doing any of the Disney attractions because, while at Downtown Disney, my two year old became very frightened of the roving characters. I couldn't believe it – all my plans for magic times in the Magic Kingdom down the drain! – but we ended up spending time at SeaWorld and some of the smaller attractions and will save Disney for another visit. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time though!

  22. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    What a coincidence – I just got back from Orlando today! I was so interested to hear about your experience. We ended up not doing any of the Disney attractions because, while at Downtown Disney, my two year old became very frightened of the roving characters. I couldn't believe it – all my plans for magic times in the Magic Kingdom down the drain! – but we ended up spending time at SeaWorld and some of the smaller attractions and will save Disney for another visit. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time though!

  23. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    What a coincidence – I just got back from Orlando today! I was so interested to hear about your experience. We ended up not doing any of the Disney attractions because, while at Downtown Disney, my two year old became very frightened of the roving characters. I couldn't believe it – all my plans for magic times in the Magic Kingdom down the drain! – but we ended up spending time at SeaWorld and some of the smaller attractions and will save Disney for another visit. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time though!

  24. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    What a coincidence – I just got back from Orlando today! I was so interested to hear about your experience. We ended up not doing any of the Disney attractions because, while at Downtown Disney, my two year old became very frightened of the roving characters. I couldn't believe it – all my plans for magic times in the Magic Kingdom down the drain! – but we ended up spending time at SeaWorld and some of the smaller attractions and will save Disney for another visit. I'm glad you had such a wonderful time though!

  25. existere says:

    I love this – and may be asking your advice in the future about Disney with a baby…or two!!Glad your kids are loving it, and you too!

  26. existere says:

    I love this – and may be asking your advice in the future about Disney with a baby…or two!!Glad your kids are loving it, and you too!

  27. existere says:

    I love this – and may be asking your advice in the future about Disney with a baby…or two!!Glad your kids are loving it, and you too!

  28. existere says:

    I love this – and may be asking your advice in the future about Disney with a baby…or two!!Glad your kids are loving it, and you too!

  29. Loukia says:

    So glad you had so much fun! We go every year to Florida with the boys, and when they are a bit older, we will do Orlando for a few days for sure to do Disney. I was 12 when my parents took us to DisneyWorld and it was amazing, for sure!!

  30. Loukia says:

    So glad you had so much fun! We go every year to Florida with the boys, and when they are a bit older, we will do Orlando for a few days for sure to do Disney. I was 12 when my parents took us to DisneyWorld and it was amazing, for sure!!

  31. Loukia says:

    So glad you had so much fun! We go every year to Florida with the boys, and when they are a bit older, we will do Orlando for a few days for sure to do Disney. I was 12 when my parents took us to DisneyWorld and it was amazing, for sure!!

  32. Loukia says:

    So glad you had so much fun! We go every year to Florida with the boys, and when they are a bit older, we will do Orlando for a few days for sure to do Disney. I was 12 when my parents took us to DisneyWorld and it was amazing, for sure!!

Leave a Reply

