Baby hands

I am fascinated by my children. Every day they surprise me with a new skill, word or revelation about their world. I suppose it comes in part from not remembering what it was like to be so young, but I am constantly amazed by their simple intelligence and how they view the world in such a pragmatic way. But to be honest, what I find the most enchanting is their hands. These beautiful and soft parts of their body that, though small, look much like they will when they are the hands of an adult. I am amazed by how complete they are, how they look precisely like miniature versions of adult hands with every little finger and wrinkle.

It’s different than many of their other parts and features that change as they get older, their chubby cheeks and thighs, their sweet little bums, bald heads, noses, and round tummies. These are all very much baby parts, cute and cuddly of course, but changing each day as they grow. Their hands are perfection. I’m amazed by them. I spend countless moments holding them, looking at them, in awe.

7 thoughts on “Baby hands

  1. Kristen @ Motherese says:

    Just clicked over from a great comment you left at The Happiest Mom and I see that you and I are thinking about the same thing today.My younger son (like you, I have two boys, a toddler and an infant) is just starting to get a pincer grasp and I am amazed at the way he uses his little fingers. It's as though they are extensions of his personality – constantly moving when he is excited, really only at rest when he is asleep.

  2. Holly at Tropic of Mom says:

    I love baby parts too, and I might be more appreciative of hands if only my boys stopped moving long enough for me to admire them.

  3. Christine says:

    Holly, it's so very true! My oldest (3.5) never rests his hands or any of the rest of his body for that matter.

  4. Charlotte says:

    I love hands, too. Often when I hold my little ones while they sleep I will hold their hands. It helps that most of them got my husband's beautiful fingers instead of my more stubby digits. You expressed that sentiment perfectly. Maybe this is why I've always been a sucker for hand oriented crafts?

  5. @WannabeMomErin says:

    This is the sort of blog entry that I hope I write when I have a baby.This is the sort of blog entry that years from now will be treasured by your family.Christine, this is a perfect post.

  6. Rebecca says:

    love little, chubby baby hands! especially when they grasp at my hand…

  7. refashionista says:

    I wrote a post remarkably like this several years ago when I noticed that #2's hands had changed from chubby toddler hands into capable, strong pre-schooler hands. Hands resonate for me in regards to the kids in a manner that most other changes don't. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

