The better parent

It’s no secret that I admire my husband. I’ve gushed about him enough in other posts, like this one. The reason I’m so quick with the praise is because…well, he deserves it. I count my blessings and not a day goes by that I’m not thankful he’s my partner and best friend. This post is no exception.

The top 10 reasons my husband is a better parent than I:

10. He plays endlessly with both our boys, no game or pursuit is too trivial. It amazes me how much patience he has for their various forms of fun.

9. He includes our oldest in almost every job he does around the house. This cannot be without frustration for him because it takes him hours longer than necessary to get a job done. And yet, he accomodates our 3-year-old and let’s him tag along and learn.

8. He’s got a better sense of humour about almost every challenge our 3-year-old throws our way.

7. It’s more clear to him that, no matter how hard it is for us now, this intense period of caring for little boys will get better as they get older. I don’t mean the actual parenting, I have no illusions that it just changes, doesn’t get easier. What I mean is in terms of finding time to get things done. As they get older they’ll be more independent and we can explain the importance of getting the grass cut, cleaning the bathroom or finishing a renovation.

6. He’s better at discipline. My son doesn’t get under his skin and doesn’t “work him” like he does me. He makes a decision and sticks by it.

5. He’s got a much better imagination. He can talk to both boys (even the 9-month-old) at their level. They just chat about stuff and enjoy it! I like to chat too, but I marvel at the things he thinks to chat with them about.

4. He can go for weeks without any time to himself and still enjoy our company. I can’t go for more than a few days.

3. Have I mentioned how well he plays with the boys. Oh yes! But worth mentioning again because I so envy him this skill. I am NOT good at getting down and dirty with trucks, trains and tools. But he does, for HOURS.

2. He’s much better at letting them go. He understands that boys will be boys. He’s okay with the scrapes and bruises, the daredevil attitude, the unbridled energy. He just gets it and can live with it.

And the number one reason my husband is a better parent than me?

1. He gets me, the mom. He supports me unconditionally. He lets me be who I need to be to my boys, he doesn’t harp that I hover, or snuggle or cuddle too much. He’s been the best breastfeeding coach a mom could have. He listens over and over again to my various worries. And at the same time, he encourages all of my personal pursuits because he knows in the end they make me a better, more present mother. I’m not sure I do the same for him. In 2010 it’s my first and only goal, to be a better wife and friend to him.

24 thoughts on “The better parent

  1. Amanda says:

    What a great tribute to your husband. I don't often give my husband a lot of credit in the child-rearing department (he works a LOT) but as I was reading your list I was able to put a check mark next to almost all of them for my hubs (#9 hasn't happened yet, we have girls, they're not interested). Thanks for sharing and making me realize that I have a pretty great husband too :)Amanda@caffeinated_mom

  2. Amanda says:

    What a great tribute to your husband. I don't often give my husband a lot of credit in the child-rearing department (he works a LOT) but as I was reading your list I was able to put a check mark next to almost all of them for my hubs (#9 hasn't happened yet, we have girls, they're not interested). Thanks for sharing and making me realize that I have a pretty great husband too :)Amanda@caffeinated_mom

  3. Amanda says:

    What a great tribute to your husband. I don't often give my husband a lot of credit in the child-rearing department (he works a LOT) but as I was reading your list I was able to put a check mark next to almost all of them for my hubs (#9 hasn't happened yet, we have girls, they're not interested). Thanks for sharing and making me realize that I have a pretty great husband too :)Amanda@caffeinated_mom

  4. Amanda says:

    What a great tribute to your husband. I don't often give my husband a lot of credit in the child-rearing department (he works a LOT) but as I was reading your list I was able to put a check mark next to almost all of them for my hubs (#9 hasn't happened yet, we have girls, they're not interested). Thanks for sharing and making me realize that I have a pretty great husband too :)Amanda@caffeinated_mom

  5. psumommy says:

    Oh, my, so sweet! I adore reading about GOOD marriages.

  6. psumommy says:

    Oh, my, so sweet! I adore reading about GOOD marriages.

  7. psumommy says:

    Oh, my, so sweet! I adore reading about GOOD marriages.

  8. psumommy says:

    Oh, my, so sweet! I adore reading about GOOD marriages.

  9. Christy says:

    This post made me cry. That's all I have to say 🙂

  10. Christy says:

    This post made me cry. That's all I have to say 🙂

  11. Christy says:

    This post made me cry. That's all I have to say 🙂

  12. Christy says:

    This post made me cry. That's all I have to say 🙂

  13. Tiffany @ Lattes And Life says:

    Me too. me too. My husband is so much better at so many aspects of this parenting than I. And I don't let him know how much I appreciate that as often as I should.

  14. Tiffany @ Lattes And Life says:

    Me too. me too. My husband is so much better at so many aspects of this parenting than I. And I don't let him know how much I appreciate that as often as I should.

  15. Tiffany @ Lattes And Life says:

    Me too. me too. My husband is so much better at so many aspects of this parenting than I. And I don't let him know how much I appreciate that as often as I should.

  16. Tiffany @ Lattes And Life says:

    Me too. me too. My husband is so much better at so many aspects of this parenting than I. And I don't let him know how much I appreciate that as often as I should.

  17. Brittany at Mommy Words says:

    Aw that's so great! My husband is really good at playing witht he kids too! It is so great to watch. I do think, though, that I get more frustrated sometimes because whenever they are whiney or crabby or in the mood to be mean – they want mommy. Yours sounds like a gem!

  18. Brittany at Mommy Words says:

    Aw that's so great! My husband is really good at playing witht he kids too! It is so great to watch. I do think, though, that I get more frustrated sometimes because whenever they are whiney or crabby or in the mood to be mean – they want mommy. Yours sounds like a gem!

  19. Brittany at Mommy Words says:

    Aw that's so great! My husband is really good at playing witht he kids too! It is so great to watch. I do think, though, that I get more frustrated sometimes because whenever they are whiney or crabby or in the mood to be mean – they want mommy. Yours sounds like a gem!

  20. Brittany at Mommy Words says:

    Aw that's so great! My husband is really good at playing witht he kids too! It is so great to watch. I do think, though, that I get more frustrated sometimes because whenever they are whiney or crabby or in the mood to be mean – they want mommy. Yours sounds like a gem!

  21. existere says:

    This is a lovely, lovely entry. I think #1 is my favourite. It sounds like you have a true marriage, a true love. That's always nice to see.

  22. existere says:

    This is a lovely, lovely entry. I think #1 is my favourite. It sounds like you have a true marriage, a true love. That's always nice to see.

  23. existere says:

    This is a lovely, lovely entry. I think #1 is my favourite. It sounds like you have a true marriage, a true love. That's always nice to see.

  24. existere says:

    This is a lovely, lovely entry. I think #1 is my favourite. It sounds like you have a true marriage, a true love. That's always nice to see.

Leave a Reply

