Life in the fast lane

So the title of this post might be a bit misleading. I don’t exactly lead a life of great intrigue or excitement. I’m a mom to two young boys and I live in a rural community that hardly boasts a happening night life. My days are planned around three meals, two snacks, three naps, bathtime and bedtime. That’s about as exciting it gets. If I’m lucky I get a trip to Starbucks. I kid you not, this is often the highlight of my day.

However, if you look at it a different way, I really do live my life in the fast lane, in that, every free moment I get is a mad dash to do something productive around the house or fun for me. Therein lies the problem. I have too many personal pursuits to fit into naptime. I cannot manage my life inside two or three short hours of unpredictable freedom. There is just TOO MUCH I want to do, outside of cleaning and doing laundry of course.

I love to cook and bake, yet every meal feels like a mad dash to the finish line. Get it on the table as quick as you can before the next meltdown or in plenty of time to fit in a bath, a TV show and stories. Not to mention the fact that at least one little mouth in this house prefers to not actually eat anything I cook. Baking, however I’ll admit is often succhessful, since said little mouth enjoys participating. This makes for a great afternoon activity most of the time. But sometimes a lady just wants to get it done.

I love to read. I mean I devour books, or at least used to . At present I have five books anxiously calling my name on my bedside table, not the least of which is my book club selection which takes priority each month. This is fine when I enjoy the book, but that is not always the case. So not only do I have trouble actually finding any blocks of time to read, but sometimes I have to use what little I can find to read stuff I would rather not. I miss the days when I would snuggle in front of the fire for hours with a bottomless cup of coffee and a good book. It has been years since I’ve been able to do that.

I’m crazy about scrapbooking. It’s a creative outlet I never expected to enjoy and yet, four years later I still love it. I started just before the birth of my first son and have thrown myself headlong into it as a hobby. I enjoy working with the paper, preserving my families memories in fun ways and telling our family’s story through words and photos. My husband loves to look at the albums I produce so he’s tremendously supportive. Yet, it’s a difficult hobby to do in just short snippets of time. A page can take hours or minutes, you never know. I crave the time to get creative, but struggle to carve it out.

I love to hike in the woods. My husband and I have always enjoyed this together, yet we never get to do it anymore. The kids are young, tire and grow impatient quickly and simply do not enjoy it as we do (yet!). This summer and fall we have not gone hiking, not once. Not only has this been difficult for me, but it is a well-loved hobby that I long to enjoy as a couple once again.

And now I’ve started this crazy blog. It’s a place to write about my thoughts as a mother and an individual. It feels good to set down words from the thoughts that swirl in my head. But it takes up valuable nap time and as with all of my favourite pursuits, is always a race to the finish line. Think about the post, draft the post, edit the post. You get the idea. Even as I write this piece, I’m anxiously watch the minutes ticking by and know that this free moment will be gone too soon.

We all know that parenthood is a question of priorities, about balancing the needs of your family with your own needs (not to mention professional, family and friend commitments). I’m not willing to lose myself on this journey and so I continue to plug away at finding ways to integrate my passions into an already busy schedule. When I do find pockets of time, I treasure them, no matter how short they may be.

7 thoughts on “Life in the fast lane

  1. DaniGirl says:

    Oh, this really resonates with me! I find myself thinking covetously of all those hours I wasted before I had kids, and how I'd love to have just a few of them back now!!Balance is hard, but I think it's really important to find time for stuff that is uniquely you — not you the mom or you the wife or you the employee, just you. At least that's what I saw when I realize I haven't mopped the floors in recent memory and the dust bunnies beneath the furniture have evolved into dust yeti!

  2. Chantal says:

    I totally get this. I feel this way a lot. And I know it will only get worse when I am on mat leave. But then, they do eventually grow up and some day we will have free personal time again. Or so I hear 🙂

  3. Christine says:

    Thanks, it's always great to hear that this resonates with others. Plus it helps to know that others struggle with similar stuff. Sometimes motherhood feels like we are living in a vacuum, cut off from the real world, but flying at top speed!

  4. Christine says:

    Thanks, it's always great to hear that this resonates with others. Plus it helps to know that others struggle with similar stuff. Sometimes motherhood feels like we are living in a vacuum, cut off from the real world, but flying at top speed!

  5. Christine says:

    Thanks, it's always great to hear that this resonates with others. Plus it helps to know that others struggle with similar stuff. Sometimes motherhood feels like we are living in a vacuum, cut off from the real world, but flying at top speed!

  6. Christine says:

    Thanks, it's always great to hear that this resonates with others. Plus it helps to know that others struggle with similar stuff. Sometimes motherhood feels like we are living in a vacuum, cut off from the real world, but flying at top speed!

  7. Rebecca says:

    It's so hard to find that balance, but really, I dont' know that I had accomplished it before kids either. Each day I try to find passion in something I do – parenting, baking, shopping, blogging…a little piece of me in everything I touch!I do miss some pre-kid adventures, but that time will come again soon.I think we often forget that quiet time/doing nothing is important for us too – don't over load yourself!

Leave a Reply

