Toddler sleep woes

Been a while, not been feeling so hot. Also been busy, busy, busy chasing a crazy toddler.

So, we have graduated to another milestone. Crib to big boy bed. Hard to believe! I had no intention of doing this for many months yet, but we were given no choice because the little mountain climber decided it was his right to get out of his crib whenever he wanted. While I am convinced that his climbing prowress far outweighs the need to worry over injury, but my esteemed husband…the man who lets him play with POWER TOOLS, thought it prudent to put him in a big-boy bed. This is all well and dandy if he would stay in his big boy bed. And I suppose it olds true that if he can get out of the crib, it was only a matter of time before he started doing so on a more regular basis, but I can’t help but think that our current Jack in the Box woes could be avoided if only he were still in a crib.

Just two nights ago we spent more than 3 hours….12:00 a.m. to 3:00 a.m. getting up, often, to carry him back to his bed. As the wee hours of he morning wore on not only were we getting weary, but my poor little boy was getting increasingly distressed. Why can’t he climb into bed with us…would this be so bad. Well YES! I need sleep and a toddler, kicking, tossing and punching is not my idea of restful. How to explain that to a 2-year-old at 3 a.m. is beyond me though so we had to resort to the old, shut the door and let him scream routine. Thankfully he still loves me and was very excited to me see me after daycare last night.

I can’t help but wonder what part of his psychosis might have been forever affected by our 3 hour debacle…

Leave a Reply

