Toddler fury

What a weekend. My little boy had some difficulties managing his emotions this weekend. Frankly I believe that when it comes to managing fatigue he takes after his mother – who is not very good at this either! We had a busy weekend with lots of adventure which is, of course, a fantastic way to keep a toddler happy and engaged, but on the flip side contributes to a cantankerous, sleep-deprived little demon who can’t figure out what he wants. The good news is he was fantastic during the fun-filled activities, the bad news is that in-between he could hardly control himself. I lost count, several times, of the number “no mommies” I heard between inconsolable sobs all weekend. I can’t believe that only a short few months ago I was so excited to hear the word “mommy” and already I found myself saying to my husband “If I hear that one more time I will lose my mind”.

Our weekend wrapped up with one very amusing incident…which all in all, put life in the toddler fast lane in perspective. Last night, only an hour after settling him down to sleep, we heard a little voice call “mommy”. When he puts it like that I cannot resist, so off I trodded to see what was up. When I entered his room, I found a little boy sitting quite angelically on his knees in his crib….but COMPLETELY naked. I couldn’t help myself, I burst out laughing and then quickly realized if I continue to show my amusement this might become a nightly ritual. So we quietly and quickly redressed him (with the addition of a diaper shirt this time), removedthe pee-laden comforter and tucked him back in. In that moment, I was reminded of the true joy of parenthood. How could you not love it!

5 thoughts on “Toddler fury

  1. Anonymous says:

    That is funny. The naked part, I mean. I'm not sure I would have been able to stifle the laughter.Tracey

  2. Anonymous says:

    That is funny. The naked part, I mean. I'm not sure I would have been able to stifle the laughter.Tracey

  3. Anonymous says:

    That is funny. The naked part, I mean. I'm not sure I would have been able to stifle the laughter.Tracey

  4. Anonymous says:

    That is funny. The naked part, I mean. I'm not sure I would have been able to stifle the laughter.Tracey

  5. Anonymous says:

    That is funny. The naked part, I mean. I'm not sure I would have been able to stifle the laughter.Tracey

Leave a Reply

